Monday, August 30, 2010

Outside Fun

Eventually I'd like to train Kilo to pull a cart, because really, what's cooler than having a big dog that can lug stuff around for you? If he's gonna eat me out of house and home it's only fair he should pull some of his own weight right? Even if it is a bit literal. He's too young to do any actual pulling yet (he'll have to finish growing first), but this week I started getting him used to wearing a harness and tugging some empty jugs behind him. Surprisingly, he really could have cared less - probably because he's so used to dragging his leash along. It was impossible to snap a moving picture of him - he stays too close to get anything other than his back end in the picture - so a sitting picture was the best I could do. But he's got his gear on anyway. ;)

We've also been working on the normal everyday training, which is progressing, if a little bit slowly. Right now he's certifiably ADD, everything is a distraction and much more interesting than that boring person he spends all his time with. Butterfly's, grasshoppers, a plane, a wrapper . . . a stick. Lots of sticks. I'm dreading fall. If he's still this grabby by then I won't need to feed him because he'll have a stomach full of leaves. I guess at the very least I'll save some money. Dogs should come with a warning label: Patience Required - Sold separately. Or in Kilo's case: Extreme Patience Required - Good Luck Finding It.

Here he is 'coming' and yes, he did put on the brakes at the very last minute:
And just because I find it funny:He's still not convinced he's too big.

1 comment:

  1. LOL! Really! His antics amuse me, but your perspective makes me laugh.

    ReplyDelete