Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Puppy Jail

Sometimes I wonder if Kilo doesn't do this stuff on purpose, just to see how long my wallet and patience can hold out.

This week, Luke started a dog fight over some prized kibble. Unfortunately Kilo refuses to back down when foods involved, so of course in the end they're rolling around on the floor acting like idiots. Luck would have it that I'm at work, so mom (the puppy sitter) has to break them up and in the process, Kilo accidentally gets her instead of Luke. Because the wounds were punctures and my mother is prone to infection and allergic to most antibiotics, she needed to go to the hospital (no stitches required, but an equally horrendous tetanus shot).

Monday rolls around and we get a call from animal control. Hello? County law? Nice to meet you. Why yes, I'd love to board my dog at the animal hospital for ten days just so you can find out if a 4 month old puppy has rabies. Sure, no problem. Never mind he's too young to have had the shot yet. A $1500 dollar fine if we don't take him right this moment? Even though he's our dog and didn't bite some random stranger? And even though its been two days since she got bit? Right this moment? Well why not I say, I'll just skip off work and run his furry behind to the vets office where they have to make special arrangements to fit him in and openly admit you're the worst county in the state to have a pet related accident. Well great. You have a nice day too, county law, and I hope all of your other little rules aren't this stupid.

Now, don't get me wrong, I definitely see the need to have laws protecting people from vicious animals and/or pet related diseases. But there needs to be some room to breathe. Apparently, most people in our county who have accidents with their pets just openly lie to the hospitals because they don't want to have to deal with animal control. I can just see how that goes: "This? Naw, that's not a dog bite, he's just got really long nails. I really need to get those babies filed down, poor dog's just trying to say 'hi'." Kilo hardly qualifies as a vicious animal and it's not like he attacked some unrelated person on the street who needs their rights protected. He got in a dog fight and accidentally bit my moms hand, she didn't even have to have stitches. Granted, it hurts, and it's not fun, but dude -10 days of incarceration? Never mind we could simply keep him on house arrest and take him to the vet on the 10th day for evaluation. And never mind the fact that people who truly do have a vicious dog probably aren't going to tell the truth about it anyway.

Ah well, almost two weeks without the little monster. We're only on day one, and everyone is already missing him. There's no air vent cover or loud thudding as he runs through the house now. It's funny how something that takes up so much energy and is more of a chore than an enjoyment, can be missed so quickly. I suppose his little affectionate moments do make up for a lot of his puppy behaviors. Kilo will spend most of week 17 and all of week 18 away from us so there will be no updates. We weighed him before he went in however, for week 17, and he was at 50lbs. He'll be fixed the last day of his stay (poor guy) and will come home as soon as I'm allowed to pick him up.

3 comments:

  1. I miss him too. Hopefully he'll be happy to come home right after his visit.

    I think the law is ignorant too. It encourages people (due to hassle and expense) to not seek medical treatment which will result in more cases of the dreaded disease becoming fatal due to people being unwilling to report it. They'll think "hey, I'll just take my chances...." This is counter to the "intent" of the law but created by the "letter" of the law.

    ReplyDelete
  2. That's terrible. Sorry they did that! I know you will be glad when they let him out so you can get back to his training.
    (Hope your mom's hand is better too)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Really missing the furry toddler! And although my hand hurts, my heart hurts more and my hand is healing nicely. Really wish the laws were written more intelligently. They certainly do not engender respect for the minds behind them.

    ReplyDelete